The Selection Panel

The agreed Process provides for an independent Selection Panel, comprising a retired senior judge, senior barristers, senior solicitors and lay (not legally qualified) members. The Panel is chaired by a lay member. The members of the Selection Panel who will oversee the 2018 competition are:

For information about a member of the Queen’s Counsel Selection Panel please click on relevant name:


Sir Alex Allan (Chair – appointed 2017)


Wanda Goldwag 

Tony King 

Monisha Shah 

Edward Nally 

Penelope Reed QC 

Maggie Semple OBE 

Rachel Langdale QC 

Ranjit Sondhi CBE 

Dame Janet Smith


The Panel Members have declared interests which may be material to selecting and recommending appointment of potential Silks. These are set out in the Register of Panel Members’ Interests. A link to the Register is below.

Register of Panel Members Interests 2018


Site by SHO